Home > Tawheed > The categories of Tawheed

The categories of Tawheed

Tawheed is divided into three categories

1. Tawheed ar Ruboobiyah (lordship)

2. Tawheed al Uloohiyah (worship)

3. Tawheed al Asmaa wa Sifaat (names and attributes)

All these categories are gathered in the saying of Allah; “Lord of the heavens and the earth and what is between them so worship him (alone) and be constant and patient in his worship. Do you know of any who is simialar. (Surah Maryam: Ayah 65)

The first category. Tawheed ar Ruboobiyah means to single out Allah with creation, sovereignty and ordering the affairs of the universe. So singling Allah out with creation means that the human being believes that there is no creator except Allah. Allah exalted be he said; “Surely His is the creation and the commandment”

The most high also said “Is there any creator other than Allah who provides from the sky and the earth” (Surah 35: Ayah 3), so we benefit from these ayah that Allah is specified with as being the creator.

As for singling Allah out with sovereignty (Mulk), it is to believe that nobody owns the creation except the one who created them as Allah said;  “Say in whose hand is the sovereignty of everything” (Surah 23: ayah 88) and He also said “And to Allah belongs the dominion of the heavens and the earth and Allah has power over all things”(Surah al Imran: Ayah 189)

As for singling Allah out with ordering the affairs it is to believe that nobody orders the affairs of th creation except Allah alone as Allah said “Who provides for you from the sky and the earth? Or who owns hearing and sight? And who brings out the living from the dead and who brings out the dead from the living? And who disposes the affairs? They will say Allaah(Surah Yunus: Ayah 31).

The second category is Tawheed al Uloohiyah it means to single Allah out alone with worship so the one who has the right to be worshipped is Allah. Allah said “That is because Allah is the truth and as for those who they call upon besides Allah they are falsehood”(Surah Luqmaan ayah 30).

The third category is Tawheed Asmaa’ wa Sifaat (of names and attributes) and it means to single Allah out alone with His names and attributes and there are two matters connected to this;

1.It is to affirm for Allah all the names and attributes that Allah affirmed for Himself of those that are established in the Quran and the Sunnah of the Prophet (salallaahu alaihi wasallam)

2.To negate any kind of similitude in those names and attributes that is because Allah did not give us any similitudes in his names and attributes as He said“There is nothing like unto Him and He is the All-Hearer the All-Seer” (Surah Shurah: Ayah 11)


Categories: Tawheed
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: